Best RED R3Ds Premiere Pro CC14 Workflow

Hello all,

I’m new to Mocha Pro and would like to get your thoughts on the best Best 'RED R3Ds 'Premiere PRO CC Workflow.

What I’m currently doing is editing in Premiere Pro CC14 with native R3Ds files. (4 or 6K HD R3D files on a 1920 x 1080p sequence)

Once I have isolated a clip in the timeline that requires some tracking. I export that clip as a PRORES 444 . I then bring that clip into

Mocha Pro. Track and then copy to clipboard. I then replace the R3D with the ProRes file and copy the tracking information.

This seems a bit inefficient as I know Mocha can work with R3Ds just not sure how to isolate that clip in Mocha from Premiere Pro CC14.

Does anyone have a better workflow solution?

All help appreciated!

Many thanks,

Steve

I am not super familiar with R3D workflow, but from some research, it looks like the proper way to do this is…

Click on the Sequence name that resides above your timeline in Premiere. This will show a yellow highlight around your selections and ensure that you are exporting from that sequence and not just a list of the clips from your project folder.

Make sure your edit is in one video track in Premiere and use “export final cut pro XML” to get your clip XML list for R3D CineX: RED.com

Open Red CineX (the most current version) and try to import your XML.

This should separate out your clips for you so that you should be able to export them wherever you like, including mocha.

Please let me know if you have any questions, and I will be happy to help.

Cheers,
Mary

Hi Mary,

Thanks for the reply.

I’ll have a try at the work flow you suggested and post any findings.

Cheers,

Steve

Hi Mary,

The steps I have followed are as you suggested.

All good there.

I exported the file as a R3D trim. ie. a 5568 x 3123 RAW file.

I imported the clip into Mocha and using the Stabilize panel I tracked a defined part of the shot.

Now this has completed its tracking.rendering where do I go from here?