Best way to stabilize building timelapse

Hi guys,

I made a time-lapse of a construction site from a crane over the course of 1year.
The crane was quite shaky because of the height and there is parallax. The camera took about 60 frames per day.
So the light is changing fast, that’s why stabilizing is difficult.

I am new to Mocha, but I think it might be the best option to stabilizing it. But it seems it might have a problem with the fast changing shadows, light and also the rooftop of the building is changing a lot because of the construction.

Now, my idea would be to track the 4 statues on the roof, because they are visible throughout the whole time-lapse.

But how can I do this without selecting the whole roof?

Or are there better solutions?

Thanks for your help =)
Max

@maximilian Hiya, I’m new to this stabilization so I’m interested in how it goes but just had a play on mine,
I tracked the door handle & the mirror on this car, making a tracking spline track the handle, then using the spline with + to add another on the mirror, then went to stabilize & chose Max Smoothing,
Does this not work with your footage?

Hi there, @dexcon

For that much rapid lighting change, I would say try some preprocessing on this footage first. I can’t see what you see from a still, but I can imagine is it tons of light flickering.

You can do something like this with this tutorial, which is very helpful: How to sharpen footage with a Hi-pass filter in After Effects | After Effects Tutorial - YouTube

Then precompose that greyscale image with all attributes in the new composition and apply Mocha AE, track, then copy and paste the Mocha AE effect back to the original plate to stabilize.

If you use Mocha Pro, you can simply render a stabilize. If you use Mocha AE, you’re going to need to use inverted corner pin data.

Hi Mary, sorry to but in on this convo, :smirk: