Difficult track and Remove

https://www.dropbox.com/s/<wbr />f3i7reb7xo5xg16/nuk_232_Alex_<wbr />3.mov?dl=0

So I’ve managed to track the truck to create a roto shape good enough to put the truck back in over the matte painting. However as the truck goes off screen the track is not good enough to use to replace the logo, and you can see the it slip, especially in the area where I created the clean plate. In the FXPHD lesson I think they got away with it, as they just added a logo to the left of the main text, so it wasn’t on screen for as long and didn’t need to clean plate it. But I want to replace that text all together.

I’ve also tried creating a clean plate, and removing it, in Mocha. I’ve had some success, but it has issues matching the lighting, even in different lighting modes, and the clean plate doesn’t work so well as the truck gets smaller.

Hopefully that makes sense.
I’m very new to Mocha, so may be missing something obvious. Any suggestion on how this might be achieved are appreciated.

Many thanks,

Alex

_

Hi there,

That link does not work for me. However, you might need to use manual track in order to get the res of the track offscreen in a satisfactory way, or just use translation. Are you using the FX PHD footage or another piece of footage?

Lighting adjustments in mocha’s remove tool have the same sort of functionality as the heal tool in photoshop, so if the roto touches darker areas in order to change the lighting, the dark areas will be pulled into your lighting model. You can either adjust your roto, or turn illumination modeling off and correct it by hand if you continue to get poor results.

Please let me know more and I will be happy to help you.
Cheers,
Mary

Hi Mary,