"Failed to open the movie file: check that the file is readable."

hi everyone this is the first time i’m participating here.
well, I hade the same problem and took me a while until I found the solution, and the solution is that dont save any video in C: or desktop wich belongs to C: of course, save instead in D: or E: etc etc that you later going to use it in mocha it worked for me.
I hope it work’s for you

Hi!

I’m new to mocha (I got it with AE cs4) and I’m trying to start my first project. However, when I try to open my video file in Mocha AE I get the following error:

“Failed to open the movie file: check that the file is readable.”

I have tried both lossless AVi and Quictime animation. The original footage is hdv (which I exported from AE as AVI and QT in order to bring it to mocha) and the resolution is 1440x1080 25p.

I’m working on a Windoes Vista 64-bit workstation with a quad core processor and 8gb RAM.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Is there anything I should try in order to fix this?

—Quote (Originally by J-P)—
Network shares (SMB/AFP/etc) usually work fine, although I have heard about some problems with Xsan volumes. What kind of network share is it?

What’s the path to the file that won’t open in Mocha?

J-P
—End Quote—
Hi!

The problem just showed up again, this time again from a drive that was also shared (though it was a different drive). I removed the sharing from that drive but the problem still persist. The clip I’m trying to import is a basic lossless AVI-file exported from adobe media encoder. The network that I’m using is a normal windows home network, though it’s between a Windows Vista and a Windows XP SP3 machine. Any tips?

Did some more testing and now I can’t seem to be able to open the files anywhere on that Vista 64bit computer… I also exported as quicktime but that wont open either.

—Quote (Originally by J-P)—
I’ll see if I can reproduce the problem here. Which version of Mocha are you using?

J-P
—End Quote—