Help needed with Silhouette Paint point tracker

I’m having trouble with the point tracker in Silhouette Paint. Preprocessing doesn’t seem to have any effect and the tracker fails to find what should be an obvious shape. Here’s an example of my setup:

I want to track the white dot and have increased the sharpness and contrast so that it’s easy to find. The next frame looks almost identical to this but the tracker fails immediately. Also note that when I hover over the tracker, the preview to the right is completely black, like there’s nothing there. Here’s an example of how it looks:

I’m new to Silhouette Paint so maybe I’m doing something wrong, but this looks like a bug to me. Any advice? Many thanks!

–David

@dhl The outer, dashed box of the Point Tracker is the Search Region, which should be the maximum
amount your tracking point will move between frames. The trick is to make the Search Region as small as
possible, yet still large enough to cover the area the tracker will move from frame to frame. If the Search Area is smaller than the amount of distance the point travels, the tracker will go off course.

As far as the preview box being black when you hover over the track point, this only occurs when the Preview is enabled. This has been this way for a number of versions, but we will see about fixing that.

1 Like

@Marco - thanks for the reply.

Here’s an example of how the tracker is failing. This is frame 1

and this is frame 2

I’ve intentionally cranked up sharpening and contrast in preprocessing so that there’s only a white dot on a solid black field. My search and match areas are fairly tight to the dot. Even though the dot changes shape between frames, it’s pretty clear it’s the only white shape in the search region. But notice how the search completely misses it.