How to open a project file with the Python API

Hi there,

I’m just getting started with the MochaPro 2020 Python API and am trying to write a custom project manager. As a start I want to be able to open existing mocha project files.

I’ve run this in the Python Script Editor in an active Mocha Pro 2020 session (with no project loaded):

import mocha
project = mocha.project.Project("/path/to/mochaProjectFile.mocha")
print(project.clips)

This creates a valid Project instance and I can access project.clips and other properties.
However the Mocha UI does not change nor does it load the specified project file.

How can I load a project file just like a user would do manually through File > Open Project…?

Thanks in advance for any help :v:

If Mocha is already open, you can just use a standard subprocess call:

import subprocess
filename = "/_test_footage/results/your_mochafile.mocha"
subprocess.check_call(['open', filename])

This will automatically open the file if it is registered to your current application, and will also ask you if you want to save any current work.
Then use get_current_project() to read the currently open file into your project variable.

Hi @martinb,

thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately I can’t get it to work. When I run the above code in the Python Script Editor in MochaPro 2020 it throws this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3, in <module>
  File "/opt/MochaPro2020/python/lib/python3.7/subprocess.py", line 347, in check_call
    raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['open', '/tmp/test.mocha']' returned non-zero exit status 1

Edit 1:

The Terminal that opens with Mocha prints this when python throws the above error:

Couldn't get a file descriptor referring to the console