Import tracking data to AE problem

Hi,

I am still relatively new to AE and even newer to Mocha so here goes a potentially silly question/ problem. Please bare with me.

I have some shaky footage and need to track an object so I can “attach” some FX to it in AE (A particle emitter to be exact) I would like these FX to follow the object I have tracked as the camera shakes around.

Mocha does a great job of the tracking part; I tracked the object using the x spline layer tool and the track is PERFECT. (Just to be sure I inserted the Mocha logo and viewed the surface and grid and they all stay beautifully stuck to the object I need to be tracked.)

I export the transform data to AE and attach the data to a null object.

I then delete the Anchor keyframes and reset it.

Then I parent my FX layer to the null object and line up the FX to where they need to be.

Heres what happens:

On the first frame the null object/FX layer lines up perfectly … but then it drifts WAY off to the left before gradually coming back to the proper position on the last keyframe.

I have tried applying the tracked data to null objects, solids, directly to the FX track and I even pickwhipped the null objects’ position to the emitter position and they all have the same result: First and last frames are ok but everything in between is just ghastly.:frowning:

I am wondering why, if the track I have made in Mocha appears to be so spot-on, when I try to use the data in AE it gets all “wonky”.

It looks like scale might be an issue here. As the shot zooms the null object/FX layer goes off track almost as if its scaling from a different position than that of the track data.

The clip is shot at 10fps and I have made sure mocha is set the same. I also make sure to paste the data in AE on the same frame as I started the track (in this case frame 1).

Sorry for the length.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.:slight_smile:

Thanks

-Trevor

A few thoughts…