Importing Dozens of Clips Workflow

I’m just learning about Mocha working with another editor and deciding if it meets our needs. So far, I’m very impressed with what it can do even without the deep knowledge.

The title isn’t exactly clear, but my scenario is this. I have a Premiere sequence that has a few minutes of clips that all need a similar edit. As you can imagine, these clips are from much larger shots and have their own in and out points for the desired shot. In order to keep these shot native (MXF files with a QT wrapper), I’d like to be able to get these clips into Mocha to track some shapes and paste back into Premiere. I don’t see a way that Mocha imports XML files (like Final Cut to Premiere) so all the clips show up as edited or something similar.

Obviously we could export each clip (or the whole sequence) and track each section with many different layers, then go back to Premiere, but that seems clunky. Any ideas on a better workflow?

Thanks in advance.

–Alex

Hi Alex,

Unfortunately, unless you’re roundtripping them into AE and from AE into mocha, there’s not a better way. Your best bet is creating your track on your trimmed and rendered clips. That being said, we are working on a version of mocha that should operate as a plugin, but that’s available soon when V5 comes out, but unavailable right now.

For less hiccups in your comp, I’d use a rendered, trimmed clip. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Cheers,
Mary

Thanks for the reply. Version 5 sounds interesting indeed. Would I be able to purchase Mocha Pro as a download via this site or do I have to find it out in the wild?

So you mentioned AE and round-tripping. I see where you’re going. I just set this up and I have a sequence that’s 8:31:01 that includes a ton of clips.