In search of Rover and Tape Mark Remove strategy

My current project is a challenge. Doesn’t help that I’m pretty new to Mocha VR.

I have a set of tape marks for a curved path and rover/camera choreography that need to be removed. I also have the rover which needs to be removed. I’ve done rover removal previously, and that worked out fine, even with curved paths. However I haven’t done that rover removal in conjunction with tape mark removal.

The seven shots I have to clean-up all have the static tape marks, which the rover rolls over. Should I create a remove layer for each mark that gets smaller, then larger, then smaller again, and process those prior to the rover remove?

Really hoping to to work out the most efficient process to do both.

The 360 video masters are 4K ProRes HQ.

This is going to be a little tricky. I would remove the rover first in one remove pass, so nothing impedes your second removal of the tape marks. Then for my second remove I would make several cleanplates and use those to get rid of the pieces of tap. You’ll need a new cleanplate each time the old cleanplate starts to warp too much or when it becomes too low res. You can do multiple tape marks at once, but your best bet will be rotoscoping all your tape marks on one layer using a single ground track and then using cleanplates at key locations to remove them as they move across the screen on your background layer. You’ll want to use as few layers as possible to cut down on remove times.

If possible, for the future, I would not use tape on the floor and would navigate by pattern or eye unless you absolutely had to tape it out. That’s going to be a real tedious process to remove, only because of the multiple cleanplates you are going to have to make to get it done.

Good luck on your project! Let me know if you have any more questions and I will be happy to help you.

Cheers,
Mary

1 Like

Thanks Mary.