Is Mocha Pro the best/easiest tool to remove product supports in footage?

Hi everyone,

I’m totally new to Mocha and not sure if it’s the right / best / easiest / (cheapest!) tool to achieve the following:

For example, I have footage of a mobile phone, or a toothbrush, or a laptop, or a can of Coke etc. all of which are physically supported by a rod/stick fixed to the rear or underside - whichever works best. The support is attached to a robot arm and the arm moves in a predefined repeatable way in front of a static camera. I can therefore shoot the product on a background of similar colour and density to the final image, plus a clean back plate plus a (virtually) silhouette plate. Essentially I’m trying to create some CGI type moves with products. I’d like to remove the support as easily as possible - would this be best from the silhouette pass? Or do I even need to shoot this if using Mocha? Ultimately I want to (as automatically as possible) isolate the product with a mask so I can place on a different background in FCPX ideally. I have Apple Motion too if that provides any better tools. I don’t have AE.

I should also add that I don’t want to use a chromakey colour for the support as this causes problems with reflections on the product. The support colour or lack of it will be on a subject by subject basis so please ignore the green in the example posted.

I have watched/read several BorisFX tutorials and understand some of what Mocha holds, I’m just unsure whether it’s right in this instance?

Can anyone here guide me whether Mocha is the right route to go?
Thank you in advance.

(Example below)

You can probably use Mocha for this. Silhouette would work too. Can I see it in motion to better advise you?

Thank you Mary.

If it attaches properly here’s footage showing the product lit and backlit.

Not all products would have straight edges and some would have soft edges.