Issue copying tracking data into AE

I’m tracking some aerial footage with Mocha Pro with the intent of inserting some floating titles in AE. I’m pretty new to Mocha Pro but I’ve done this successfully several times. My track looks great and at the end of the track I push the surface to the corners and copy the tracking data to the clipboard. Back in AE, I go to the same frame where my tracking ended in Mocha, place my 3D text and precomposed that text layer. I then go back to the first frame and paste my tracking data. If I scrub from the end, the text looks great and tracks perfectly. But there’s a point where it just disappears. I can see that my text layer starts to get huge as if the tracking data is being weird. I just can’t figure it out. I’ve made a really short video showing what happens. I’m sure hoping someone can give me a hand here. Thanks!

https://vimeo.com/121314389

Hi Steve,

What is occurring here is the surface corners are getting pushed too far beyond the bounds of the camera due to the size of the surface. This is why you see the error. If you slowly scrub through your mocha timeline when the surface is aligned on the last frame, you’ll probably see the surface distort oddly or even disappear.

One thing to try instead of using the align surface method, is the opposite: Line up your surface where you would like the text to be, then do a stretched precomp on your text in AE to fit the corner pin.

You can see an example of how to do this in the user manual here under the section “Applying Corner Pin for Layers with different dimensions”:

Hmmmm. Well that got me closer. The whole thing tracks really well now, but it doesn’t end up in the position that it should. It’s also stretched out. This is an image of how I composed the text at frame 275 (the end of the track) and it looks great.