Matrix frozen in time effect, can Mocha Pro help do this?

I’m a youtuber. I review gadgets. I’m new to vfx, and want to add more of them to my youtube channel.

I am currently reviewing a bug gun, the ‘Bug A Salt’ and trying to create two special effects. The first is this one:
Tutorial: Bullet Time - YouTube (Frozen in Time).

I am using Da Vinci Resolve and Mocha pro (MP) plugin trial on a mac.

I have a motion control camera and have filmed two scenes. One with me in it, and one with just the background.

I have two layers in resolve. Top layer is me. Bottom layer is the background without me.

Here is the clip of me. BorisFX forum help - YouTube

Clearly I need to isolate/mask me (or the workbench and supports I am resting on)

I have watched quite a few of the BorisFX training videos. My understanding is that the tracking plane would be me (nothing else co planar). I needed quite a precise mask because the light was slightly different on each layer, which makes the border quite obvious unless it is tight in on me.

I was hoping the new resolve (DR) magic mask would do it, but no.

So then I tried to manually rotoscope, which I found difficult in DR. The gun is a complex shape and the tweening of the mask was visible.

My question is whether, in a situation like this, where the subject is static, and the camera moves around, whether MP is able to track the changing shape of the mask as the perspective changes, or whether the ONLY way to do this is to manually rotoscope, and given the complexity, It would be better if I try and reshoot with more precisely identical lighting, so my mask can be much more approximate (and feathered).

Does that make sense?

For a bonus point, am I right in saying that in a situation like this, with camera movement only, the best thing is a planar track with skew, and that the best place to track would be some parts of me, like my leg and arm.

Thanks in advance for any help - I’ve been trying to crack this for days!

Hello Arlo!