Mocha AE not bringing in clip from After Effects

Hi All

New to Mocha and I’m being driven completely crazy just trying to get a clip into it.

Simply want to take a clip from AfterEffects CC 2015.3 into Mocha AE to be tracked and then come back to AE. I select my footage and then select Track in Mocha AE. Mocha launches and starts with the new project dialogue but there’s no reference to the clip that I am trying to track at all. Instead it is asking me to select the clip. Found this odd because when watching a tutorial on the Imagineer website (Mocha AE for Absolute beginners) when the instructor does this the clips is prepped ready to begin in?

Why is this not happening for me?

Cheers

Hi there!

What is the clip file format and codec you are trying to bring in from After Effects?

Mocha AE works by finding the path of the footage in your AE timeline and feeding into the application, so if it has trouble finding the clip, it will ask you for a new one.

Mocha not finding a clip is normally due to one of 2 reasons:

1. The codec is not supported (or is corrupted)
  2. The file path has special characters that mocha cannot read (this is rare)

Hi

The clip format was a camera native clip from the Sony A7sII. I believe this is a XAVC-S in 4K wrapped in a .mp4 file. It was coming from Adobe Premiere linked into an AE project via dynamic link. I find it odd that the path was an issue. What type of special characters would throw Mocha off? Spaces? Hyphens? Full Stops?

The clip works fine in Premiere and After Effects so I don’t think that the clip/codec is corrupted.

Any further advice?

Cheers

Alex

It sounds like the codec is unsupported and you will have to save the file as a different type.

I am having the same problem. We had the problem with a previous version of AE CC and thought maybe an update to AE 2015.3 CC would fix the problem. This unfortunately was not a fix. AE CC will not send information to the AE Mocha Plugin.