Newb trying motion tracking a patch of color

Hey all, I am new to Mocha and I did a stop motion project with some figurines with a green screen in the background.
The problem is that a bit of color on one of the figurines matches the greenscreen key color, so his chest suddenly becomes transparent.
At first I thought the only approach was to animate a garbage mask, but the Mocha for AE was rec’d to me.
Only issue is that I’m trying to figure it out:

1. I know I have to make a duplicate layer in order to create the spline, but it’s all one composition right now
  2. The camera and the figurine are rotating counter to each other…this means the patch of key color I DON’T want keyed changes size. Is this a problem when creating a tracking motion for the patch of color?
    3)when I make the spline over the duplicate layer, is there any particular way I tell the program this is some form of hold-out matte?
    Thanks, I appreciate your help and understanding! :slight_smile:

—Quote (Originally by martinb)—
It doesn’t have to be flat, it just has to THINK it’s flat. :slight_smile: You can fool the tracker into planar regions pretty easily.
Actually, why not just send me the clip and i’ll take a look:
martinb[at]imagineersystems.com
—End Quote—
Sent it to you as an h264!
Please keep in mind, it’s very rough footage, I’m also trying to figure out how to smooth the animation a bit. I used the smooth slider in AE, and I’m next going to try to stabilize the footage as much as possible using Mocha.

Try updating your graphics drivers. A black screen usually indicates a problem with openGL.
If that doesn’t work, try converting the h264 to QuickTime Animation codec or an image sequence like jpg, png or TIF.
—End Quote—
I just updated my computer to nVidia’s latest drivers, and I am still encountering this problem. Are you sure I’m importing it correctly? the resolution is 1080p and when I import, it labels the file “HD”