Object removal and occlusions

Hi,
I’m hoping that someone might be able to help answer a quick question. I am new to Mocha Pro but am trying to work out if I can use it to remove a static tripod from a 360 video. I’ve managed to do this successfully in Adobe by using clean plates and this seems to work brilliantly but the issue that I’m having is that there are occasional instances where I have an occlusion with a background object (e.g. when someone walks behind the tripod) and this causes a massive artifact when I remove the tripod as background object essentially disappears and then reappears the other side of the remove. Is there anything that I can do to address this? I started looking into tracking occluded objects but I couldn’t work out how this would work with removal of the foreground object (i.e. whether this will then allow Mocha to essentially “fill in the gap”) and generally got rather lost… If anyone is able to give me any advice on this it would be very much appreciated!

Many thanks,

Andre

@user84 Hi, Sorry i’ll be no help at all but i’m fairly new to Mocha & interested in this,
can you post a screen shot of your Mocha?
I’ve been practicing with this & finally figured it out, i track the man & the background, & can remove him no prob even when he goes behind the silver car, but when the red car goes through that get’s removed also,
so i tracked the red car & Mocha then ignores it in the remove,
I understand this is prob nothing like yours but i’m interested in the view of learning :+1::blush:

Well, with occlusions, you usually just have to do a lot of roto and sometimes rotopaint. If the person walks in front of your object you need to remove, roto is the solution. If they walk behind it, that’s a serious problem and a lot of paint to attempt.

Hi Mary,