Only one Rotation channel?

Hi Folks,
This is probably a silly question, but I’m brand new to AE and Mocha and a lot more familiar with 3D apps like Maya and C4D.
My question is why when I export translation data to After Effects (using CS5.5 here) do I only get Z rotation on the object? I tracked the source footage in Mocha with Rotation enabled and I can see the spline rotating in 3 axis in the Mocha viewport but when I copy the export data to the clipboard and paste into AE it only keys the Z rotation. I’ve tried pasting the data into a text file and can confirm that there’s only one rotation.
This seems like a big limitation as it’s not possible to have a plane object in AE follow the tracking data properly.
User error on my part?
Cheers,
Brian

Hi Martin,
Many thanks, that’s a great tip. I haven’t looked into rendering in Mocha yet but I’ll add it to my list of things to learn as I can imagine how useful it will be for this (I’ve only bought AE CS5.5 just over a week ago so my study time has been mainly dedicated to that thus far).
Regards,
Brian

Great, thanks for the advice. I’ll just do it with corner pins for right now so (AE and the new DSLR have taken a bite out of my funds for the moment), but I’ll keep that in mind if I upgrade to the pro version.
Regards,
Brian

Thanks for your reply, that sounds promising : )
I’ve been trying writing expressions in the 3D apps I use to try and turn the corner pin translation data into rotational animation (based on calculating the amount of skew in the shape) but it’s not very exact as it relies on the tracking plane being a perfect square to begin with and the results are not very usable.
Regards,
Brian

Hi John-Paul,
Thanks for that, I’ve not looked into that but I’ll check it out.