Please release a standalone version of Particle Illusions!

Hi Boris FX.

I am writing this to ask you on bended knee, to please release a new, or updated version, of Particle Illusions. I was thrilled to bits at the news that you had acquired the license and were working on a new update, but the updated version is a plugin for other software packages. I don’t own any of the other software packages listed and none of them are cheap either, I’m a home hobbyist.

Particle Illusions 3.0.9, the latest version, is not stable! It is slow and unresponsive at times, it crashes, and something it just won’t launch at all and the only solution is to uninstall and reinstall it to get it working again.

Particle Illusions is a key tool in my creativity and it’s impossible to work with it long term in its current state. It was always a stand alone program and I would very much like to see it resurface as one. With the new year rolling in, I’m hoping you’ll remember legacy Particle Illusion users such as me who don’t have access to the expensive host software your new current version requires, and will see fit to release a new, updated, stand alone Particle Illusions.

Hi Paul,

I’m delighted to know that you enjoy working with Particle Illusion so much. We’ve put an enormous amount of engineering effort into rebuilding this product on 64 bit architecture with a modern user interface and will continue to follow this development path, bringing new tools and features into Particle Illusion.

Our goal is to resurrect and improve upon all of the features that were included with the old 32 bit version of the product. For instance, we’ve already integrated motion tracking driven by the powerful Mocha planar tracker that can be used in multiple ways and the PicelChooser matte and masking system which also includes Mocha masking and tracking.