Roto in Silhouette vs. Mocha

Hello,

I’m new to Silhouette. Up 'til now I did my roto work in Mocha. I was curious about Silhouette and already bought it to see if I can actually have some pleasure doing rotoscoping. I now have an idea how to roto in Silhouette but at my low level of expertise I don’t really understand what I can do in Silhouette that couldn’t be done in Mocha.

Can anybody tell me what the advantages of Silhouette are as it concerns rotoscoping? As I understand it there must be some because all I heard is that it is the ultimate tool for doing roto. I just don’t see it yet.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Gérard

Hi Gérard,

I’m sure someone from the Mocha or Silhouette teams will jump in to explain the details of what roto specific features are included in Silhouette but not in Mocha and in the meantime, this chart might help : https://borisfx.com/products/silhouette/#compare

Cheers,
Peter.

Hey Gerard,
Now that both tools are under the Boris FX umbrella and the Mocha tracking option is included in Silhouette, it is a good question.

If you use Mocha for roto, there are certainly similarities and you will find Silhouette has been optimized for in-depth roto projects. Beyond roto, Silhouette also has amazing paint tools (check out the detail separation) and a node based composting interface. So while Mocha might be used for tracking or roto “to complement a host” application, Silhouette has many more tools to finish shots.

For roto a few highlights from me… but I’d love to hear from more Silhouette users here:

Larger projects - Silhouette is optimized to handle hundreds of layers and will not bog down. Grouping layers and all that goes with layer management is something that is more efficient in Silhouette.

Tools not found in Mocha: Inverse Kinematics, Reshape + Magnet mode, B-Splines, ability to do more with open-splines, new RotoOverlay tools with moblur and onion skin, channel viewers, and more.