Rotoscope: Putting Shadows BEHIND an actor. (non-plate)

System: Mac OSX 10.5.8
Mocha AE. Aftereffects CS5.

I’m a newbie just starting in Mocha AE. I’ve followed Steve’s first tutorial, and applying it to a shot I’m working on for a short film.
The goal is to composite shadow footage BEHIND the actor’s arms.
Footage screengrab. DVCPRO HD 1280x720
23.98fps
Image: http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/954/platey.png (ImageShack - Best place for all of your image hosting and image sharing needs)
In Mocha AE, I tracked the movement of the actor over 6 seconds. Downloaded Mocha Pro (unlicensed) and opened it. I have 2 layers, the loose roto, and the clean one. both are linked. The tracking is about perfect for the 6 seconds.
Image: http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/3954/actormotiontracked.png (ImageShack - Best place for all of your image hosting and image sharing needs)
One of the 2 wings, to be placed behind the actors arm.
Image: http://img695.imageshack.us/img695/452/leftwing.png (ImageShack - Best place for all of your image hosting and image sharing needs)
I need to rotoscope him out, so I can put WINGS behind him on a layer, then PASTE him back over it. I understand you do a separate roto aswell for the background in this process.
Can I do this in Mocha AE? I have downloaded the trial of Mocha Pro…
The mocha tutorials are great, but I’m pretty lost here interms of the workflow. I’m not used to dealing with masks.
Do I import the raw clip into AE then export/import the tracking data of the actor from Mocha to Aftereffects? and cut/paste, layer in the wings behind him?..
Or can i do it with the removal tool in Mocha Pro (unlicensed version) comp it there and export?
I’m in the woods, and have about a week to get this shot done for a former ILM vfx coordinator…it’s my first real job. pro-bono, but I want to nail this down. learning as I go. Thanks in advance for any help/workflow suggestions/links.
Warner

Hi :slight_smile:
Let me address your questions: