Screen Replacement: Planar Surface Issue

Hey I’m tracking a phone screen in Mocha and I’ve tracked the phone successfully. However whenever I position my PLANAR SURFACE and track forward the surface does not move. I’m not sure if it has to do with the movement in the clip. I’ve attached a link to the video and stills below showing the issue.

Can anybody offer any advice on how to correct this?

Thanks in Advanced

Temi

pw: 12345

Are you wanting to Track the actual Phone screen? This is not what you did, NOOB here . . this what I did:

1] Layer 1 tracked the EXTERNAL edge of the Phone. Several times I had to change the Motion Params.

2] Added a Layer 2 which was the best shape for the INNER screen edge and then Linked to Track 1.

Maybe there is a better method to get your question answered, but I get a good tracking of that inner screen.

Correct.
Very often you won’t track exactly what you want to replace, since there might not be enough texture to track.

Thank’s I’ll try this.

Do I need to worry about the Planar Surface?

Hi there,

OK, first, go into your clip tab and drag the yellow dashed line to block out both of those black bars, your track will get stuck on them and you need to tell Mocha to ignore them. That’s probably what your track got caught on, as evidenced by your stationary surface tool.

You absolutely need to worry about the planar surface tool, as that is the track. The spline is just where the track is looking.

You want to avoid any reflections on the screen, you can do this with overlapping shapes on the same layer by using Add to X-Spline OR you can simply draw around the edge of the phone. Just avoid the middle section with the reflections.

Because this screen is so small, you may need to use adjust track to correct the surface tool to match perfectly. The surface tool is what your corner pin will be when you are done.