Some advice if I were to upgrade

I’ve been using Avid Media Composer 6 and Boris Red for many years. I’m just a (serious) hobbyist home movie editor.
If I were to take the step of upgrading to the current Avid MC, which Boris package would approximate and improve upon what I’ve been accustomed to in Boris Red for Titling, Masking, Paint etc.?
Thank you.

Hi Alan,

Thank you for being such a long time customer.

The Boris RED product has been out of development for several years at this stage and was replaced with Boris Continuum and for titling that’s the Continuum Title Studio filter, which includes the same titling tools that were in RED with a similar UI but it’s way faster and more feature rich. You can even import textured 3D models from C4D!

Not everything that was in RED has a match in Continuum but most of the tools are there and work faster. The main missing piece that you listed as one of the tools that you use is paint but for that we have the standalone paint and roto product, Boris Silhouette. We also have Boris Mocha for roto masking, planar tracking, insert and removes, stabilization etc.

I hope this helps!

Cheers,
Peter.

Hello,Can FEC of Boris Red be found in Continuum?

Hi Peter,
thank you for your thank you, and for your reply.
Yes I’d be interested in a cross grade to Continuum. I’ve received an email from Neal Berkowitz also, and he’s quoted me a crossgrade price in which I’m interested.
At the moment I’m familiarising with a trial version of Media Composer and I’ll let Neal know when I’m ready to purchase.
Thank you again,

Cheers,

Alan

@ SummaryActivityNot

The FEC product was discontinued several years back but some of the technology and a few of the transitions have been migrated over to Continuum. For instance, the Vector Blur is used in the Continuum BCC Vector Blur transition. Are there any filters or transitions in particular from the FEC set that you are curious about?

@alan.carroll