Some one help please!

Hello,

I'm writing because I need some serious help understanding tracking. I have a quick 60 sec shot where I need to add some body wounds to the character. The problem is when the director shot the footage they didn't add any markers so I can track with.

Plus, I’m a noob when it comes to tracking to start with. I have watched many tutorials, bought mocha import plug-in but whenever I try and track the footage mocha gets lost.

Even if I go frame by frame adjusting the points, the actor just moves around so much (bending his arms out of frame and twisting them) that nothing I do helps.

Please, I am begging for some help here. I can post the clip if it would help to see what I am talking about. I really have been working on this 60 second clips for 6 months now and I’m at my wits ends.

Thank you,

Jayson

It’s quite possible the arm you’re trying to track is not trackable, depending on the shot. A video would help, so yes, if you can upload it i’ll take a look.
If the actor is twisting their arms too much you will lose the plane of information to track. You may have to track as much as possible then do the rest manually.
Adjusting the spline points will not help your track. The spline is just a search area, not the actual tracking information. When you’re tracking, turn on the surface and/or grid to watch how the track is going.

It’s normally a combination.
For the arm, you’d need to track in the element like tctdvm says: Do as much as possible then tweak.
Since you’re dealing with a moving arm, you’d probably want to use corner pin to match the plate, but it’s hard to get it looking right, as you don’t have a lot of detail to work with there.
Corner pin is essentially a 4-point distortion. This means it can warp the insert you want to apply it to rather than just moving it around in XY space, which is what transform does.
You only need to export shape data if you need to mask out an area.