Spline Changing Shape on Me Mid-Track

I am fairly new to using Mocha AE so it could be user error. I am trying to put together an Iron Man Hud video. The video is only of my face, pretty lit, in front of a black screen. My head does not move much at all.

What I’m trying to do is track my head movements so that the targeting effects and various widgets I add to the composition move along with my head.

My issues are two-fold:

1. I use the X-spline too and draw a “mask” that covers my eyes, bottom part of my forehead and the bridge of my nose.(I have tried splines that cover my whole face, just my nose, etc) I have tried clicking on all of the track motion options. It follows it great until about 1/3 of the way through. It is still following it correctly but the spline that I drew changes drastically, becoming very shrunk. It stays this shape for the rest of the tracking.

2. When I save it and return to After Effects I go to add things to the composition such as shapes and widgets. After I hit “Apply Export”, the size of whatever I add is drastically shrunk, sometimes to the point where If I make it larger(or to the original size), it’s very blurry. Which leads me back to problem number 1. The widgets in the comp look great and follow everything great, until it gets to the part in the tracking(again about 1/3 through) where the spline shrinks, then all the widgets follow suit and change in shape and position as well. And if I adjust the shapes/widgets at this point, it affects how they are laid at the beginning of the video.

I use Export Option: “Corner Pin”
Layer Export To: the new layer and select “Source”

What it sounds like is that your track isn’t working properly. Try only tracking your forehead and nose, if you blink, Mocha may be trying to track that motion.

You also must be sure to use the surface tool when you track, that will be what the corner pin will translate to in AE.