Tips for removing a piece of a shadow in Mocha Pro 8.0.3. in After Effects

Hi Boris Community!

My name is Joshua, I'm new to Mocha Pro and wanted some advice and tips for a project; as I learn myself. 

I’ve shoot POV with a GoPro, I did not account for seeing the camera in shadows. At the link, is a quick screen record of me recording; you’ll see the GoPro’s shadow PROtruding :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: from my shadow’s forehead. I tracked its shadow, I did it frame by frame. Was there a better way to track it? Is there additional tracking needed to accurately remove and replace the GoPro’s shadow, with the sunlit part of the ground?

My first instinct is to set the GoPro’s shadow as the foreground layer, and the pavement as the background. Beyond that I draw blanks lol. Looking forward to your feedback!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mbgQGHOYjvnc-ywqfp8BG5Zs042mX4Gu/view?usp=sharing

Hi there, I can’t see the clip. Can you make it sharable?

Hi Queen Mary!

Yea! I just made the link shareable.

Joshua

Honestly, I’d probably just patch the ground over that section using a roto shape attached to the ground plane, and then I would rotoscope the head back over that with a darken layer, that way you’ll get a more natural looking shadow back on top and you can use a darken blending mode to add the shadow back in.

Does that make sense?

Just so I’m clear, I should attach a roto shape to the ground plane. That shape that you see tracked to my shadow, wouldn’t that be the roto shape? If so, I attach that to a ground plane; which I’m sure I don’t have. The only layer is that shape I tracked to my shadow.

The second part of your explanation did confuse me. I want to remove that piece of shadow rather than add any shadow in.

If you create a patch shape based on a track, you can simply offset the background (the gravel in this case) with a feathered edge and you have a very believable offset patch.