Up to Date Training and procedures

I’ve been using mocha for a few years, and by using, i mean pulling it up every once in a while when i’m like “mocha will crush this”, and then hammering through because i’m always perpetually rusty. With that, I feel like the training on mocha ae is pretty scattered now, especially since the introduction of the AE plugin, which is WAY better. I have a few questions.

• Is there like a master list of new up to date methods to do the most common things in Mocha AE, that doesn’t get into Mocha pro, etc, and probably just does whatever old projects just showing the new workflow? Getting around the youtube is a bit haphazard but if that’s what it is, that’s fine i just feel like i’m poking through a lot of stuff.

• Today i had to remove a Skechers S from a shoe. It was of course every bad thing you could imagine, fingers in front, lace flying in front, motion blur, changing angles, etc. The workflow I did was to track the fingers, the lace, and the S in the same plugin layer, then dupe the layer, and just use mattes for the individual objects. Does that make sense to do? Is there a better way? to cover up the S with maroon, i just enabled the matte of the tracked S, and used a color solid to just obscure it.

• With Apply Matte, is that essentially just doing the same thing as Create AE Mask, without creating the mask?

• In the Mocha Plugin, under Layer properties, i used to remember you being able to set ins and outs of each layer, and they’d pop in and out when you didn’t need them. When i set the ins and outs now, it seems to apply to the whole project. Bug, or did that change?

• If i wanted to paint something in photoshop, say a material over that S, Would the way still be to export a frame from AE to Ps, paint it, Track in Mocha and use ALIGN TO SURFACE, and then apply that track data to the still frame that is of course the same size as my composition? Or has this been streamlined in the new plugin?