Using Silhouette and Mocha Pro to paint out clipped highlights on 5+ mins of low quality footage

Hello,

What would be the best workflow and techniques for using Silhouette & Mocha Pro to paint out clipped area on an actor’s forehead? Here’s a 10 second example showing ugly clipping which comes and goes as the actor moves his head around:

This is the area I’m particularly look to paint out:

Background info:

I’m an amateur/hobbyist working on post-production for an online theatre performance recorded during Covid lockdown. Actors recorded their webcam and microphone locally using OBS. Source clips are H264 @ 30Mbit/s, but I’m editing on DNxHR HQ proxies. Footage is 1080p 30 FPS.

I’m using DaVinci Resolve Studio + Fusion Studio as my host. I have Neat Video for Resolve to do noise reduction. I’ve installed and am learning with the trials of Silhouette and Mocha Pro, and am considering buying a one month bundle of these two products to help me work on this project.

The actors performed in front of green screens and I will be using Fusion to key them out and composite them on backgrounds to create the impression of them being together in a real place. Being recorded on consumer webcams, the quality is poor. So too is lighting. As a result I have clipped highlights in several sections, like in the above example video.

I’ve done some experimenting using Drag brush strokes applied with Auto Paint, using Silhouette’s built-in Mocha tracking. For a first attempt it seemed to work reasonably well, although the tracking wasn’t 100% consistent.

I then experimented in Mocha Pro and by tweaking some of the Track parameters, such as switching from Luminance to Auto, I got a better track. I haven’t yet tried using that better track in Silhouette.