Vignette with alpha?

Is there a straightforward way to apply a bcc vignette and apply an alpha to the edges rather than a color?

Creating a photo slideshow and want to have the photo edges blend into a background that isn’t a single color.

Hi, just had a play with this, i’m a total novice but was interested.
a lot of the effects have Mocha / Pixel chooser mask, you could put on the vignette (or not) then add a mask to make the edges transparent,
I could have sworn i saw an edge effect where you can make the edge colour transparent.
maybe Make Alpha Key or one of those Alpha masking fx would do you,
but BCC+Composite has some useful controls

I’ve tried using a mocha spline for this but keep running into what I think is a bug in the sizing of the spline. I haven’t had the time to work on gathering data for two independent bugs at the same time so was trying to avoid using mocha for the moment :slight_smile:

I’ll give +composite a shot. Thanks :slight_smile:

I would suggest using the PixelChooser filter for this - you can set it to generate a soft alpha edge. To achieve the result you’re looking for :

(1) apply the pixelchooser filter to the shot
(2) set output to alpha channel
(3) set matte to none
(4) set mask shape to rectangle
(5) position the rectangle over the image so that the inside of the shape will serve to protect the shot while the outside will become the alpha channel
(6) set the mask feather to the desired amount

Cheers,
Peter.

1 Like

@PeterMcAuley Thanks Peter. I’ve tried that and thought that would be the answer but I’m starting to think the problems I’m having with BCCx is down to my drivers.

I haven’t had a chance to really dig in and get reproducible steps but at least 3/4 of the time I apply a spline using pixelchooser, the area that gets masked is a lot smaller than the mask.

I may have more time tomorrow to dig in more.